You probably have all heard from your friends, family, colleagues, news presenters and so on that the new Facebook messenger application that must be downloaded on to androids and apple phones allows anyone and everyone to message you and also allows people to know private information. Rather than not know whether to believe it or not, why don’t you just change some simple steps in your privacy settings on Facebook.
The First Step:
Turn of Address book syncing. This will stop people who you aren’t friends with on Facebook from messaging you. Even if you have synced your address book in the past, you can see this by opening Facebook Messenger and go first to the settings icon lower right. See instructions below to delete synced contacts. You won’t lose your previous messages or previously messaged friends.
The Second Step:
Change your privacy settings so that only your ‘Friends’ can message you. If you would prefer it that only Facebook Friends can message you, you also need to enable “strict filtering” in settings, and you need to set your phone number to “Friends” so only friends can find you on the messaging app with it.
The Third Step:
Blocking People. Blocking people is important if you have someone inappropriately messaging you or contacting you. It can be helpful in many ways.
Privacy issues are becoming more and more of an issue these days, as technology is increasing. The general public should be doing everything to keep their lives private. Well, at least I believe so as everyone has the right to their own opinion and the right to their own lives.